Holiday Reads

DSC_0271 ReIn case any of you have guessed from the lack of posts this week, I have been on holiday (hurrah!) This is, of sorts, a holiday book run-down: Four books I decided to take on holiday with me (some read before, some new)
Please note that this holiday was only ONE WEEK. So those of you who are thinking “She only took four books on holiday?!” Bear that in mind you cheeky little things.

134_large

1. The Girl Below by Bianca Zander

“And partly, it was that she was the same age as me but was stuck being that age and would never grow up. It made me think that inside her was a thwarted adult, who had grown evil over time because she was trapped in a noose of perpetual childhood.”

Suki Piper returns to London after a decade in New Zealand, only to find that her old life is not ready and waiting to welcome her back.
3/5 stars- Good but not that good. Review here!

140.Will Self-Umbrella 2. Umbrella by Will Self

Psychiatrist Zack Busner treats his patient Audrey Death for Encephalitis lethargica, also known as the “sleepy sickness.”
Umbrella is 400 pages of continuous narrative and with snippets of italicised stream of consciousness; it’s not Will Self’s most accessible novel…
I am ashamed to admit that I gave up half way through. *Bows head in shame*

Birdsong

3. Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks

“Stephen watched the packets of lives with their memories and loves go spinning and vomiting into the ground. Death had no meaning, but still the numbers of them went on and on and in that new infinity there was still horror.”

Glorious and gritty tale of World War One. It’s utterly, achingly beautiful. If you need more persuasion, there’s a beautiful BBC adaptation starring the gorgeous Eddie Redmayne. What more could you possibly want? Watch the trailer here
5/5 stars of course

5-7-1 4. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

“And yet I have had the weakness, and have still the weakness, to wish you to know with what a sudden mastery you kindled me, heap of ashes that I am, into fire.”

This was a re-read and, as ever, Dickens did not disappoint. I adore this book more with every single re-read. I may even love it more than Great Expectations.
5/5 stars without hesitation

So there we have it. Let me know what books you like to take on holiday with you in the comments below! (I always find it so hard to decide)

2 thoughts on “Holiday Reads

  1. I also gave up halfway through Umbrella. I just couldn’t justify wasting time which could be spent on a book I would actually enjoy. Birdsong sounds great, though!

Leave a Reply?

